SEMAN's 17th AGM concluded, Kiran Gautam elected as president
Public-private partnership for solar energy promotion sought

The 17th annual general meeting of Solar Electric Manufacturers Association Nepal (SEMAN) concluded with electing new executive committee for next two years tenure.


Minister for Population and Environment Mithila Chaudhary inaugurated the annual function of private sector electric business community in Pokhara on December 29, 2017. On the occasion Minister Chaudhary mentioned that Nepal has been able to raise the issues related to climate change and environment problems in the international forums. The activities and programmes carried out in Nepal are successful and productive. Strong public - private partnership can fetch the more effective results. As such the government agencies and private sector should collaborate to combat the issues, she opined. 


Vice chancellor of Nepal Science and Technology Academy Prof. Dr. Jivaraj Pokhrel, Former Minister Ganesh Shah, Executive Director of Alternative Energy Promotion Centre Ram Prasad Dhital, Province No. 4 coordinator of Federation of Nepalese Chamber of Commerce and Industries Sanjeeb Bahadur Koirala, Chairperson of Renewable Energy Confederation of Nepal Guna Raj Dhakal, President of SEMAN Uttam Sitaula, Immediate past president Dipak Bahadur Shahi, Coordinator of Advisory Committee Hira Bahadur KC, Patron Nabin Bhujel also spoke on the occasion stressing need of government sector to work in coordination with private sector to appropriately promote renewable energy technologies keeping in view climate change effects, conservation of environmental, energy security and growth of economic prosperity of the countrymen. They also mentioned that solar energy technology has been successful in the world market in generating electricity at large scale. So as Nepal should be able to create conducive environment in government initiation by formulating suitable policies and guidelines for speedy development. The large scale solar energy industries are possible to contribute to nation's energy demand they argued. The roof-top solar energy systems are another source which can contribute hundreds of megawatt of electricity through net-metering but delayed in policy implementation is causing losses. Likewise, it would be wise to promote solar pv pumping for drinking water and irrigation facilities so as health and agriculture situations could be enhanced as desired.   


The country has been implementing federal structure of governance so as the solar energy sector also needed to work to coordinate all three levels of governance. The capacity building has been a need for the private sector, public sector and other stakeholders for smooth delivery of service and supply of technology to the users in the changed context, they stressed.


Solar Electric Manufacturers Association Nepal (SEMAN) is an umbrella organization of the private companies engaged in solar renewable energy programmes in Nepal. With its establishment in 2000, SEMAN has covered all 75 districts in the country and has been working in close coordination with government line agencies, donor communities and local beneficiaries to the best of its capacity. SEMAN member companies have been able to install approximately 617,466 Solar Home System (SHS), 102,019 Small Solar Home System (SSHS) including 30,000 Karnali Ujyalo (Tuki), 14,676 Institutional Solar Power System (ISPS) and 1,696 Photovoltaic Pumping System (PVPS) according to the AEPC statement of April 2016. Total power generation from all said systems amounts around 47 MW. Thus, around 52 MW of electrical energy has been generated in total so far including other sources. Moreover Grid Connected Solar Electricity Programmes and Roof-top Solar Net-metering Programme are in a way to take speed these days.


The private sector companies have been able to install small home solar systems and solar home systems to the people of remote locations at least as lighting solutions. The institutional solar power systems were installed for education, health and communication systems to power. Likewise solar pv pumping systems, solar street lights systems also have been installed at a sizable number.


The election held on December 30, 2017 as part of AGM elected new leadership of SEMAN under the chairmanship of Kiran Gautam while Uttam Sitaula became Immediate Past President. Likewise Indra Khanal, Prakash Bickram Basnet, Krishna Prasad Parajuli, Sunil Dhakal, Kiran Pradhan and Binod Sapkota were elected for the post of senior vice president, first vice president, second vice president, general secretary, secretary and treasurer respectively. The executive committee members elected are Keshab Dahal, Dipak Joshi, Bishwa Bikram Joshi, Om KC, Rudra Pun, Nabin Shahi, Bharat Malla, Shree Ram Adhikari, Padam Bhattarai, Dipak Gautam and Jitendra Bhattarai.

comments powered by Disqus

Interview+ View All

Article+ View All